h1

Welcome to GreenDweller

October 31, 2007

Ever since I first read about Samuel Mockbee’s Rural Studio in my second year of architecture school, I have wanted to pursue environmental design. I obtained my LEED® accreditation almost two years ago. Now I am preparing a thesis project that aims to be “zero-energy,” and hope to graduate this spring and transition into a career focused on sustainability in architecture.

But a nagging suspicion has been following me the past few months… I’m not really that “green.” It usually surfaces as I walk out of a dining hall with yet another Styrofoam container, or as I notice my cell phone charger has been plugged in for a week straight, or as I open a window to cool down a room that is overheated by a radiator I can’t turn off. How can I practice sustainable design if I don’t try to live sustainably as well?

I’d like to get the maximum value from the smallest environmental impact. I think there is a way to live a sustainable life that includes some comforts and accepts there are some things outside control (like the radiator!). This is a median that can get lost between the daunting expectations of hard-core environmentalists and the consumer culture of popular society. To achieve it requires research and changes in the way I live and use my time. That’s why this blog exists. If I’m bothering to look up carbon emissions, product chemicals, food processes, renewable energy systems, and sustainable techniques, I might as well share my findings. Hopefully you’ll give me some feedback and more things to think about. Maybe we’ll start a discussion. If we manage that, then this blog would truly be a success. But for right now this is starting out as my online green karma conscience. I’d better shape up, because either way you’ll be hearing about it.

2 comments

  1. I dislike extreme environmentalists; I think it’s not healthy for anyone. I certainly approve, and wish that more people build “greener buildings”. One needs to use a common sense approach, and I feel that western society is too dependent on big resource companies.

    Keeping working on the blog :). I hope this blog grows, looking forward to reading some more posts.


  2. Thanks so much :), It’s nice to get encouragement this early on.

    It’s frustrating sometimes that no matter how much we do as individuals, the overall sustainability of our culture is moderated by large corporations who are often slow to change.



Leave a Reply

