h1

Yes, It’s Wal-Mart, But At Least The Bag Is Pretty

January 3, 2008

Wal-Mart has just come out with a reusable bag for shoppers, and surprisingly it is devoid of any large logos. While the green typography is a little smug, I have to admit it has both wit and probably the ability to succeed in the mass market, especially since each bag is only $1 at checkouts of one of the nation’s largest retailers. I think the nice part is while they are twice the size of plastic bags, they’re still small enough to easily carry, unlike those monstrous IKEA bags. Is it greenwashing? Maybe. But either way, it looks like reusable bags are going to be the CFL’s of 2008. So pick your favorite kind, whether it be Wal-Mart, Whole Foods, or homemade, and jump on the latest environmental bandwagon. Just don’t let them be an excuse to over-consume!

(via C3Blog)

7 comments

  1. Excellent set of posts. I found you from Trent at TheSimpleDollar.

    I’m socially right-wing, fiscally hyper-conservative, and have been in the plastics industry for 15 years. Your posts transcend the usual role delineations. I wish you the best. Keep up the great work.


  2. I’m not sure what the plastics industry has to do with the rest, but thank you for the compliment! I try to keep greendweller strictly environmentalist (but practical); extraneous politics would just detract from that message.


  3. Does anybody know about this site ( http://www.earthlab.com ) ? I have seen other environmental sites with carbon calculators like yahoo and tree huggers, but I am wondering what the deal with earthlab.com is, is it credible? I saw they also published a list last month of the top ten greenest cities ( http://www.efficientenergy.org/Top-Ten-Green-Cities-in-the-United-States ). Does anyone know if this site is better than say WWF site? Fill me in

    I took their carbon foot print test and it was pretty interesting, but they said that I put out 4.5 tons of carbon while another test gave me like 15 tons? I think I trust earthlab.com’s test a little more (because my score is lower). Does anyone know about any other tests?


  4. $1? Wow!

    A friend of mine is an Eco-Broker. She told me about these a while back but they were running $15+ a piece. Ok, sure, $15 isn’t so expensive but $1 certainly sounds much better doesn’t it?


  5. I am mixed on this. Were these made in sweatshops to only cost $1 a bag? Is wal-mart going to hassle you and make you put a little pink sticker on it if you carry it in the front door?

    Hopefully, this is honest sincerity and not just Wal-Mart trying to make a buck (literally?) by using less plastic bags.


  6. Red- That’s a really good point about the possible sweatshop manufacturing. Ideally one would shop for reusable bags with the same ethos that they apply when shopping for clothing. However the fact remains that Wal-Mart is one of the largest retailers in the US, so if they attempt to cut down on plastic bags, it really makes a huge difference, whether or not they make money on it.


  7. I carry a Reisenthel – Mini Maxi Shopper Eden, Long Handle bag in my purse at all times as well as 3 reusable grocery bags in the car. Check out http://www.reusablebags.com/ for lots of options and plastic bag news.



Leave a Reply

